While there are multiple save slots available to create a new game in Darksiders 3, you may begin to wonder how you are supposed to save your game once you’ve begun playing. We’ll explain how the save system works in Darksiders 3 so that you will know what to expect.

How Saving Works in Darksiders 3

Darksiders 3 is a more challenging game than its predecessors in the series, and as such, you will want to ensure your game is saved after you’ve made some progress. Although you can have multiple save files in Darksiders 3, there’s no way to manually save the game yourself, so there’s no use in looking through the menu for a save button.

The game will automatically save wherever you are as soon as you exit the game and return to the main menu. The game will also save upon entering a new area or when triggering a cutscene. You know the game is being saved when you see the red Darksiders logo appear in the lower right corner of the screen. 

The lack of a manual save can seem a bit confusing at first. Since there is no way to save the game manually, you must be a bit more diligent in how you go about playing the game. Although the game will save where you are upon exiting to the menu, the game is constantly overwriting itself as you play. If you die, you will respawn at the nearest Vulgrim Serpent Hole location that you've discovered. You can’t rely on creating a save point that you can revert back to later. The game will always pick up wherever Fury was left standing.

If you want to ensure your game is saved before exiting, you can visit Vulgrim and then exit the game so that you know you will be in a relatively safe location when you return. This is not quite the same as creating a manual save, but it should help create some added peace of mind.

There you have it, that’s all you really need to know about saving in Darksiders 3. Check out our other Darksiders 3 guides for more gameplay tips, including how to fast travel and how to switch between Hollow Forms.