Warmind, Bungie’s next expansion for Destiny 2, is just around the corner. Destiny 2: Warmind includes new themed weapons, armor, and gear, along with new story missions, Strikes, and an all-new Raid for players to delve into. Warmind will be pivotal for many Destiny 2 fans, as it will likely determine how players will approach the game going forward. If you’ve been eager for new content in Destiny 2, then you will want to prepare to download Warmind on May 8.

Destiny 2: Warmind Scheduled Maintenance

Before you can download and preload the new Warmind expansion for Destiny 2, you’ll need to know when the game will go down for maintenance to apply the 1.2.0 update. Destiny 2 is scheduled for maintenance on May 8 at the following times:

  • 6:00 am PDT
  • 9:00 am EDT
  • 1:00 pm UTC

Destiny 2 will undergo maintenance for about five hours, give or take. Players cannot access the game during this time. Stay tuned to the Bungie Help account on Twitter for updates on the scheduled downtime.

Destiny 2: Warmind Preload & Download Time

Once Destiny 2 goes down for maintenance, players will be able to download and preload Destiny 2: Warmind during this time. The ability to preload usually becomes available about an hour after maintenance starts. This means that players should prepare to download and preload Destiny 2: Warmind at the following times on May 8:

  • 7:00 am PDT
  • 10:00 am EDT
  • 2:00 pm UTC

Keep in mind that these times are an estimate based on prior experience with preloads for Destiny 2. For those who play Destiny 2 on PC, you can check the Battle.net app to see when the update becomes available. If you won’t be home in time to install the update, then make sure to enable automatic updates on the client so that Destiny 2: Warmind will install on its own and be ready when you are. For console players, automatic updates should already be enabled on PS4 and Xbox One, unless you’ve changed the settings to do otherwise.  

Destiny 2: Warmind will have plenty of new content for Guardians to enjoy, including a new Raid Lair called Spire of Stars and an icy new destination on the polar ice caps of Mars. Be sure to check back here for more Destiny 2: Warmind content once the expansion goes live in your region.