The Dragon Ball FighterZ open beta was announced at several months ago. However, details were scarce when the announcement was made. We knew that the Dragon Ball FighterZ open beta would take place in January 2018, but not much else. Now, we finally have more details on the Dragon Ball FighterZ open beta. The Dragon Ball FighterZ beta will begin on January 14 and run until January 15, before the game launches on January 26, 2018. Since the official date announcement, Bandai Namco has added a 24 hour makeup period for both PS4 and Xbox One. The PS4 makeup date is January 17, while the Xbox One makeup date is January 23. You can see the schedule for all open beta periods below. While this is an open beta that will allow anyone to participate, if your pre-order the game from PSN or Xbox Live you will gain early access to the open beta which starts on January 13 (just search for the early access open beta on the PSN or XBL store and download it starting January 12). Keep you eyes on this article as we will be updating it once more information on the Dragon Ball FighterZ open beta becomes available.

The roster of the open beta includes 11 playable characters, with some changes from the closed beta (see below). In addition, seven stages will be available and gameplay modes include World Match and Battle Tutorial, with access to lobby avatar customization, stamps and the Replay Channel. Full details can be found below. Europeans can get early access via phyiscal or digital pre-orders, while North American players can only get early access by pre-ordering digitally from PSN or the Xbox Live Marketplace. There will not be a PC beta for Dragon Ball FighterZ.

Dragon Ball FighterZ Open Beta Details

Europeans should check their emails as codes to get into the early access period should be going out over the next few weeks. European players can enter their early access codes at this site. Keep in mind, everyone can get into the Dragon Ball FighterZ open beta. The only advantage you get from a pre-order is the one day of early access starting on January 13. Starting on January 14, everyone can get into the Dragon Ball FighterZ open beta on PS4 and Xbox One. Pre-load for the beta will begin on January 12. If you’re looking for more information on the game to prepare for the beta, be sure to check out our tips on how to play that can be found in our Dragon Ball FighterZ game hub. There you’ll find detailed information on the combat system to get a jump on the competition before the beta kicks off, as well as the characters that Bandai Namco and Arc System Works have already announced.

Dragon Ball FighterZ Beta Info

There are two beta clients you can download. One is labeled as "early access" while the other is just the normal open beta. If you pre-ordered from PSN or XBL you should be downloading the early access version if you want to play on January 13. This gives you access one day early, but you will still need to download the normal beta client.

Note: Due to the connectivity issues people encountered throughout a good portion of the beta, another 24 hour period has been added. This will start on January 17. See below for full details.

Pre-Load

Early Access Start Times

  • January 13 at 12AM PT / 3AM ET / 9AM CET

Open Beta Start Times

  • January 14 at 12AM PT / 3AM ET / 9AM CET

Open Beta End Times

  • January 16 at 12AM PT / 3AM ET / 9AM CET

PS4 Open Beta Makeup Start Times (2nd Open Beta)

  • January 17 at 9PM PT / 12AM ET (1/18) / 6AM CET (1/18)

PS4 Open Beta Makeup End Times (2nd Open Beta)

  • January 18 at 9PM PT / 12AM ET (1/19) / 6AM CET (1/19)

Xbox One Open Beta Makeup Start Times (3rd Open Beta)

  • January 23 at 9PM PT / 12AM ET (1/24) / 6AM CET (1/24)

Xbox One Open Beta Makeup End Times (3rd Open Beta)

  • January 24 at 9PM PT / 12AM ET (1/25) / 6AM CET (1/25)

Open Beta Characters

  • Android 18
  • Beerus
  • Frieza
  • Kid Buu
  • Krillin
  • Nappa
  • Perfect Cell
  • Piccolo
  • SSJ Goku
  • SSJ Vegeta
  • Ultimate Gohan

Open Beta Stages

  • Cell Games Arena
  • Planet Namek
  • Rocky Field (Evening)
  • Volcano
  • Wasteland
  • West City
  • World Tournament Arena

Open Beta Modes of Play

  • Battle Tutorial
  • Ranked Play (Rankings)
  • Replay Channel
  • Stamps and Lobby Avatar Customization
  • World Match

Recommended Gameplay Links

We’ll have more on Dragon Ball FighterZ in the coming weeks and month leading up to the open beta and the official release in February 2018.